BARBICAN CENTRE BOARD

Thursday, 2 May 2024

Minutes of the meeting of the Barbican Centre Board held at Committee Rooms, 2nd Floor, West Wing, Guildhall on Thursday, 2 May 2024 at 11.00 am

Present

Members:

Munsur Ali Deputy Randall Anderson Tijs Broeke Nicholas Lyons Anett Rideg Jens Riegelsberger (External Member) Alderman Sir William Russell Despina Tsatsas (External Member) Irem Yerdelen

In Attendance via Teams

Tobi Ruth Adebekun Michael Asante

Officers:

Ali Mirza - Barbican Centre

John Cater - Town Clerk's Department
Kate Doidge - Town Clerk's Department
Matthew Cooper - Town Clerk's Department

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Tobi Ruth Adebekun, Michael Asante, Farmida Bi, and Mark Page.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS UNDER THE CODE OF CONDUCT IN RESPECT OF ITEMS ON THE AGENDA

There were no declarations.

3. ORDER OF THE COURT

The Board received the Order of the Court of Common Council dated 25th April 2024 reconstituting the Barbican Centre Board for the ensuing year.

4. ELECTION OF CHAIR

Ahead of the election of the Chair and Deputy Chairs, the Town Clerk reminded Members of Standing Orders 29.4 and 30.5, whereby any Member interested in standing for the positions of the Chair or the Deputy Chairs is asked to inform the Town Clerk by no later than one full working day ahead of the meeting. The Town Clerk confirmed that the positions of Chair and Deputy Chairs of the Barbican Centre Board were uncontested.

The Chair thanked the Members of the Board for their confidence and support and expressed his gratitude to all the staff at the Barbican Centre for their ongoing efforts to deliver a world-class arts programme.

He paid tribute to the outgoing Chair, Tom Sleigh, whose vote-of-thanks would be delivered at the next meeting of the Board on 22nd May. He also thanked Alpa Raja for her contributions over the past year.

He welcomed Anett Rideg and Alderman Nicholas Lyons to the Board.

RESOLVED, that – being the only Member expressing a willingness to serve, Alderman Sir William Russell be elected as Chair of the Barbican Centre Board for 2024/25.

5. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRS**

RESOLVED, that – being the only Members expressing a willingness to serve, Tijs Broeke and Tobi Ruth Adebekun be elected as Deputy Chairs (drawn from elected Members of the Court of Common Council and the external Membership of the Board respectively) for 2024/25.

- 6. **QUESTIONS ON MATTERS RELATING TO THE WORK OF THE BOARD** There were no questions.
- 7. **ANY OTHER BUSINESS THAT THE CHAIRMAN CONSIDERS URGENT** There was no other business.

The meetir	ng ended a	nt 11.10 am
Chairman		

Contact Officer: John Cater john.cater@cityoflondon.gov.uk